2016 aec gilmore nsw divisional large

“Gilmore is one of the most beautiful electorates in Australia. Yes of course, other members will say something similar, but If you travel from Minnamurr near the northern boundary to Tuross Head in the south, you can see some of the most wonderful beaches in the world. We have waterfalls and bushwalks, wildlife and wild wonders. Most importantly though, Gilmore is home to the most generous people you’re ever likely to meet. I’m proud to work with the Gilmore residents, because together we can achieve great things.” – Ann Sudmalis

The wonderful region of Gilmore, on the NSW South coast, covers an area of approximately 6 342 sq.km and is home to over 133,000 people. Gilmore was proclaimed an electorate in 1984 and was named after the poet and author, Dame Mary Gilmore (1865-1962). The electorate extends from Minnamurra in the north to Tuross Head in the south, then west to the Endrick River and Lake Yarrunga, including much of the Budawang and Morton National Parks. Towns and suburbs include Bawley Point, Batemans Bay, Berry, Callala Bay, Cunjurong, Currarong, Fishermans Paradise, Gerroa, Kiama, Malua Bay, Mogo, Moruya, Nowra, Sussex Inlet, Tomerong, Tuross Head, and Ulladulla. The first Member of Parliament for Gilmore was J R Sharp (1984-1993) and the longest serving MP was Mrs Joanna Gash (1996-2013).

Ann Sudmalis was elected at the 2013 and 2016 Federal Election and is the current serving Member.

Products and Industries include:

  • Tourism
  • Aged Care
  • Timber
  • Dairy & beef cattle
  • Paper mill
  • Brick works
  • Light engineering
  • Dairy products
  • Steel fabrication
  • Fishing and oyster Industries
  • Vineyards and wineries
  • Ethanol
  • Starches

The electorate of Gilmore

2016 aec gilmore nsw divisional large